Every year we announce the winners of the ‘Cloud Architect of the Year’ election. This year a new category have been added to the election: best Cloud Engineer. Below you will find more information about the categories and about all the previous winners.

Category 1: Cloud Architect

The best Cloud Architect combines business knowledge with the ability to apply detailed knowledge of cloud technologies. He/she develops and maintains high-level and solution designs which realize maximum business benefits.

Category 2: Cloud Engineer

The cloud engineer position can be broken into multiple roles, including cloud software engineer, cloud security engineer, cloud systems engineer/ DevOps engineer. Each position focuses on a specific type of cloud computing, rather than the technology as a whole. With this election, we are looking for the individual who excelled in his/ her role as cloud engineer and made great impact in the cloud project he/she was involved in.

Category 3: Cloud Security Architect

The cloud provides a whole new spectrum of security paradigms and new concerns arise. The (cloud) security architect is the one who is on top of this technology and works with his/her team to apply the appropriate level of technical controls on cloud.

Hall of Fame

Cloud architect 2020

René Pingen

René Pingen


Cloud engineer 2020

Rob Reus

Rob Reus

DevRobs Consultancy

Security architect 2020

Dennis Vijlbrief

Dennis Vijlbrief


Cloud architect 2019


Henk de Ruiter

Ahold Delhaize

Security architect 2019


Johannes Vermeulen


Encouragement award


Dani Z.


Cloud architect 2018

Erik Janssens

Erik Janssens

NXP Semicondutors

Nominate your for next year's election by filling in the form below:

I like the focus on sharing knowledge and honoring the best cloud architects.